Emma’s super great muesli recipe

Pretty much every morning for breakfast I eat a heaped 1/3 cup of muesli with banana and yoghurt. I stopped for a while and when I started again I noticed that the store-bought stuff is super sweet. So I made my own.

The first time I just worked with stuff in the cupboard and it was great – so this takes a similar approach. Just use what you’ve got (but buy the right oats). I usually make this up around doing other tasks – there’s no need to spend time and do it all at once since the cooking time is quite long and then there’s cooling down time too.

Ingredients – for about 1.8kg muesli

  • 1.5kg wholegrain oats (I got mine at Moore Wilsons but I imagine supermarkets or Bin Inn have them)
  • 3 T honey
  • 1/2 T tasteless oil
  • 2 t lemon essence
  • 1 t orange essence
  • 3 cups of nuts of your choice
  • 3/4 cup of crystallised ginger
  • 1 1/4 cups dried fruit
  • 1 t rose essence

Method

IMG_8102

Pre-heat the oven to about 180 degrees centigrade. Put all the oats on a tray or into a large, shallow dish.

IMG_8103

In a pot (or metal measuring cup) melt the honey and oil together. Take off the heat and add the lemon and orange essence – I had these left over from the Christmas cake and they add a fresh taste to the muesli. It probably doesn’t matter at all if you don’t add them – or you could substitute a squirt of lemon.

IMG_8104

Poor the honey mixture over the oats and put into the oven. Cook for 1.5 hours, stirred gently every 30 minutes or so. Keep an eye on the oats so they don’t burn – although that will take ages to happen.

Once you’re happy with how brown the oats are take them out of the oven and leave them to cool on the tray.

IMG_8105

When the oats are stone cold put them in a big bowl. To make life easy you probably want a bit more room at the top of your bowl than I have here.

IMG_8106

Time to add nuts and seeds (if you like them). This time round I used walnuts, hazelnuts and pistachios as well as sesame seeds and sunflower seeds. Chop them up then toast them on a tray under the grill (without oil) for about five minutes. Watch them or they’ll burn – you’ll also need to shake them around every 30 seconds or so.

Once the nuts are toasted put them to the side.

IMG_8107

Chop up whatever dried fruit you have – adding crystallised ginger is my magic ingredient because it gives the muesli a fresh taste when you eat it. Last time I used old raisins, leftover Christmas cake fruit – whatever I had lying about. This time it was dates and nectarines. Add a teaspoon of rose essence over the top and stir in well.

Rose is a bit of an acquired taste so if you have kids you might like to leave this out. Put the nuts and fruit into the bowl of oats and stir until combined.

IMG_8108

Transfer your muesli to an airtight container and you’re done.

This recipe is for home, not commercial, use.

One Response to Emma’s super great muesli recipe

  1. katy says:

    That looks lovely! In a period of busyness a while ago I started having my rolled oats raw and untoasted with just some watery stewed fruit (plums most of summer but but apple this week from our tree, cooked without sugar) and oat milk or almond milk (almond milk seems to work really well wetting the oats for some reason). It is very basic, if I am super organised I put the oats and fruit with some spices to soak before bed to make a kind of bircher, but this happens rarely. We usually have yoghurt in the fridge but I have found that even the unsweetened fruit makes it tasty enough that I don’t need it for flavour. I love a luxurious muesli with all the trimmings but also good to know just how enjoyable a very basic version can be!

    When I was overseas one time I accidentally bought rolled barley instead of oats for breakfasts and so was stuck eating barley porridge for a while, it was quite an interesting variation and apparently barley is even better for you than oats so I have been thinking of revisiting this.

Leave a Reply

