109 rolls of washi tape

It starts when you arrive in Japan and realise that the washi tape you love so much is one-fifth the price that it is in New Zealand. Then you pick up a couple of rolls here and there and fit them in the little gaps in your suitcase.

“Let’s count the washi tape,” Tom said yesterday when we were unpacking.

80… 90… we got to 109 rolls. Some are being given to other people but mainly we’re going to be one well-stocked household for a good few years. Yesterday we also set up a hot towels station so if you come for dinner we’ll make you a hot towel before we eat – we loved hot towels in Japan and I just don’t know how life can carry on without them.

Tom’s back at work now – I’ve got today off as well. I was wide awake at midnight and struggled to get out of bed at 6.30am so tomorrow (when I return to work) will be hard. Today I’m washing and tidying, getting everything away and filling some Emma Makes orders for stockists. Then I think one last afternoon nap might be in order.

Oh, and I’ve turned the comments on the blog back on so go for gold. You’ll be able to comment again from this post on.

My lunchbox collection from Japan.

My lunchbox collection from Japan.

5 Responses to 109 rolls of washi tape

  1. Wolfies says:

    Loved, loved, loved your Japan posts. Thanks so much for taking the time to allow us to vacation with you two on your fabulous, inspiring trip.

  2. Katie says:

    Ooooh do we get to see a photo of all the washi?

  3. Delia Strong says:

    Welcome home! I loved keeping up with your blog posts, they made my days at work SO MUCH better:)

Leave a Reply

