Tokyo, two ways

I started my day taking a train to Ikebukuro to wait in line for a special Kit-Kat. Each day only 300 of them are handmade and Tom was keen to get one for our collection but had to be elsewhere.

20140307-194720.jpg
Although the store opens at 10am there were 15 in line when I arrived at 9.40am and about 35 by the time it opened. I got three new flavours for our collection, which I’ll blog at a later date.

20140307-194918.jpg
Then it was off to Nappori – fabric town. Having congratulated myself on my amazing way-finding I then got thoroughly lost but found a nice diversion of interesting things to look at down an alleyway. Sometimes the best things are found on the way to where you really meant to go.

20140307-195311.jpg

20140307-195326.jpg
Fabric town was a success with a few different things bought – I’ve tried to stick to interesting patterns and/or made in Japan so it’s material I won’t probably see at home.

20140307-195454.jpg
My plan was to head off elsewhere but with the weight of the fabric and tired legs I headed home just in time to watch it snow over Tokyo. It seems crazy that the photo above with the clear blue sky was taken on the same day.

20140307-195654.jpg
Tom’s day started at the Tsukuji fish market (again) where he was on a mission to find more knives.

Our hotel is closest to Shinjuku station now, which services 2.3 million customers a day – it’s huge and easy to get lost or buy the wrong ticket – a problem Tom had today.

Still, soon he was on his way. He visits a lot of bookshops – often places he researches and then tries to find so he can search for that elusive Manga title. It’s the kind of approach that makes me mental – if I can’t find something I often give up and just roam around finding other good things. I suspect he thinks the same of my approach.

20140307-200302.jpg
Next up was the grounds of the Imperial Palace, which Tom said was remarkably empty. He spent a good while watching some huge carp in a pond before heading off.

While I was watching snow Tom was eating the best pork ramen of his life. Then it was time for more book hunting before home to blob out and rest.

We’ve both just returned from a fantastic Teppanyaki dinner from one of the in-house restaurants. Personal service, Kobe beef and a cooking show while looking over Tokyo – a pretty ideal way to end the day.

20140307-200658.jpg

Comments are closed.

