A time to pause

Today Tom and I took the train down from Sapporo to Hakodate, along the coast and past snowy fields and witchy trees.

20140211-165159.jpg
For the next three nights we’re staying at a ryoken – a traditional Japanese spa. In fact I’m typing this out on my phone while lying in our tatami room.

We can sleep in either a western bed or futon and have two onsen (hot springs) to choose to bathe in.

I’m not usually a fan of mooching round in my togs but to use the onsen you have to be naked. With strangers. Togs are starting to look pretty good!

20140211-165633.jpg

20140211-165704.jpg
Our plan for this part of the trip is to rest – still do some sight seeing but also read, relax and I’m particularly looking forward to hitting the spa for a massage and facial.

Comments are closed.

