To all the books I’ve loved this year

About this time of year when it’s busy I spend a lot of brain time visualising myself reading books over the Christmas period. Right now I can’t wait to begin Donna Tartt’s new book The Goldfinch.

2013 has been categorised by some pretty average reading for me. And The Luminaries, which shone bright as a brilliant book. Here’s a few others that you might like to read that I rated five stars this year. I’ve linked them all to Good Reads so you can find out more.

Habibi by Craig Thompson
My first graphic novel and a really enjoyable reading experience.

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
My book of the year so far – although I lent my copy to someone who lost it. Not only lost it – left it in another country. Grrrr. Here’s my book review.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
One of those classics that you finally get around to reading and then wonder why it took you so long. Brilliant, beautiful writing.

The Invisible Rider by Kirsten McDougall
Not quite short stories, not quite a novel, I found these episodes thoroughly enjoyable.

Gorse Is Not People by Janet Frame
This is the stuff of classic Frame. Rich layered writing with immediately imaginable characters – at times with a dose of fairytale and more than once with a desperate and
deep sadness.

Edwin + Matilda by Laurence Fearnley
A devastatingly sad and utter heart-breaking story of love and the quest to find and understand it. Laurence Fearnley really is a master of description – her South Island is always so real and so right, her characters are pitch perfect.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Another classic that I entirely blame for getting me through winter so well. Brilliantly full of wit and whimsy and the perfect winter read. Buy it for Christmas for every girl you know.

And more book recommendations…

4 Responses to To all the books I’ve loved this year

  1. Jax says:

    Love your work Emma – I have already tagged most of these in my good reads list! Great to have your recommendations. Thanks.

  2. Tony says:

    I see Tim Winton has a new book out.

  3. […] Kennedy’s A Boy and his Uncle and it’s stayed with me as a great read. Here’s a few more recommendations of books I’ve actually read this year and rated four or five […]

Leave a Reply

