Keeping all the library books

One of the great things about my new job is that it’s super close to a great library. I haven’t even made it to the shelves yet because I just borrow from the ‘recently returned non-fiction’ display.

I recently borrowed Vintage Flowers by Vic Brotherson and loved it – it’s filled with beautiful flower photos (images below) and the text isn’t dumb. I renewed it and then had to return it today, which I was resentful about so I’ve ordered it from Unity Books so it can be mine all mine.

Then as I pondered my dislike of giving books back I thought up a new library idea. Why not run libraries like the Fatso DVD service where you queue books that you want, get them sent out (or pick them up) then post (or return) them when you’re ready.

Libraries could either have amazing online, visual catalogues for queuing or you could have a barcode scanner tool in the library where you roam around and zap things to add to your queue.

It’s probably totally unfeasible because as I’ve just said I wouldn’t want to return this one book. But it could be a go-er.

vintage-2

vintage-3

vintage-4

vintage-one

7 Responses to Keeping all the library books

  1. tiny happy says:

    i love that book too! have had it out from the library twice- might have to buy it too šŸ˜‰

  2. Sarah says:

    Funnily enough it has been talked about already!

    • tomandemma says:

      Oh man, I thought I was so original!

      • Sarah says:

        Well, we got as far as a mailing service – scanners and the like are very much original! Sadly it’s not really viable at the moment. Can explain why next time I see you in person, if you’re interested šŸ™‚

      • tomandemma says:

        I’m sure it’s not for a million reasons but I’d definitely be keen to hear more. In the meantime, may I suggest a large internal mail envelope for returning library books? They just don’t fit at the moment and I have to walk them over. First world problems.

      • Sarah says:

        It’s going to be even more difficult when you move to the temporary premises next year šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

