“I love children, especially when they cry, for then someone takes them away.”

This morning on the train to work I listened to the Great Lives podcast about Nancy Mitford. What an amazing woman – witty, brilliant and never boring. The quote in the headline is hers.

I read Love in a Cold Climate about three years ago and am now keen to add The Pursuit of Love to my reading list – maybe a good one for my Kobo in Japan?

This amazing style spread was made by Zoella on Polyvore

There’s some truly cracker Mitford quotes:

On housework
“I think housework is far more tiring and frightening than hunting is, no comparison, and yet after hunting we had eggs for tea and were made to rest for hours, but after housework people expect one to go on just as if nothing special had happened.”

On marriage and happiness
“The trouble is that people seem to expect happiness in life. I can’t imagine why; but they do. They are unhappy before they marry, and they imagine to themselves that the reason of their unhappiness will be removed when they are married. When it isn’t they blame the other person, which is clearly absurd. I believe that is what generally starts the trouble.”

On life
“You’ve no idea how long life goes on and how many, many changes it brings. Young people seem to imagine that it’s over in a flash, that they do this thing, or that thing, and then die, but I can assure you they are quite wrong.”

6 Responses to “I love children, especially when they cry, for then someone takes them away.”

  1. Ha – I love the housework comment!

  2. I want to be her when I grow up!

  3. Jax says:

    I totally love this post – she is amazing!

  4. tiny happy says:

    love those quotes. especially about the length of life- i’m very pleased to hear that from such an esteemed woman.

Leave a Reply

