Clash of the patterns

The other day I was trolling through Pinterest and I saw this photo…

Image via Pinterest

Growing up, Mum’s number one rule of dressing was don’t wear stripes with stripes. But stripes and polka dots? It’s all on. I think clashing and bold patterns together look great and am going to aim for more of this over summer.

Yesterday I wore a black Thrive dress with a bright pink and purple ribbon bow pattern all over it. I paired that with a candy floss pink cardy with hot pink checks. Some people smirked when they saw me; those people are boring.

Here’s some more great clashing patterns…

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

4 Responses to Clash of the patterns

  1. Amanda says:

    Wow, you would have looked great, I love the Thrive dresses, they have some great bright fabrics, and a pink cardy has to go with a dress like that….we need more clash of the patterns out there! I need you to style me actually….

    • tomandemma says:

      Ages ago I saw this website where you could upload photos of all your clothes and let people style you. I thought it sounded good but couldn’t be bothered photographing things.

  2. That’s a fashion ‘thing’ called…..the Powerclash! lol!

  3. […] while back I wrote a post about bright, clashing patterns. My friend Helen told me that’s called powerclash in fashion and ever since I’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

