Waffle me this

Tom gave me a waffle maker for my birthday and each Saturday since I’ve set about making waffles. I’ve tried a new recipe each time because the one in the official waffle maker book has 1.5 cups of cream, which seems excessive.

The first round was okay but a little soft for my liking and a bit bland.

On Saturday I cooked this recipe for me and Helen. They were light, crispy and sweet despite only having a tablespoon of sugar in them. I made buttermilk by letting a teaspoon of lemon juice sit in a cup of milk for five minutes. Although there was a bit of faffing about with seperating an egg, it was well worth it and keeping them in the oven was a great idea.

You could easily change this by adding some cinnamon to the flour, substituting caramel essence for vanilla, or adding chunks of chocolate to the mix to make three variations on plain.

Light, crisp waffles – from this website

3-1/2 oz. (3/4 cup) bleached all-purpose flour
1 oz. (1/4 cup) cornstarch
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup milk
6 Tbs. vegetable oil
1 large egg, separated
1 Tbs. sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Image via Pinterest

Leave a Reply

