A preview of my Emma Makes studio shop

When I signed up to teach workshops at the Kokomai Creative Festival I also signed up to have an open studio. Basically I’ll just be making things in my studio but people can visit me. See the schedule for the Open Studio Trail.

A couple of years ago Helen and I went to the Whanganui Open Studios weekend and the ones I liked best were the people who let you buy their stuff. So in that spirit I’ve set up a little corner of my studio as a shop. It’s not finished yet but I thought you’d like some photos. At my shop you can get everything you can buy online and quite a few things you can’t.

It’s quite handy too because when I’ve got orders to fill now I just go shopping at my shop. For visitors I’m working on EFTPOS too, which is exciting.

Once it’s finished I’ll also put details on my Emma Makes website about how to visit – in case you can’t make the October festival dates.

studio-shop-one

Neon heart on a stick is doing a great job of being bright

studio-shop-three

These white shelves are brilliant – they’re from Warehouse Stationery

studio-shop-two

The little shop and my studio behind it.

10 Responses to A preview of my Emma Makes studio shop

  1. carol says:

    Looks really awesome Emma! :)I’m loving those purple & yellow cushions on the top shelf!

  2. your little shop and studio look beautiful ! just like you !

    the white shelving is a great backdrop for all the shapes and colours.
    hope you get lots of very happy visitors!

  3. Cass says:

    Wow, it all looks lovely! Where did you get the wall shelves/cubes? I love how you’ve decorated them. Were they easy to put on the wall? The pussycats on top are too cute!

    • tomandemma says:

      I put those shelves up when I first did my studio – they’re just a collection of old drawers from the op-shop. I painted them all white, just screwed them into the wall and then glued pretty wrapping paper on top to hid the screws. SUPER easy!

      • Cass says:

        Very clever, thanks for that. I’m trying to put together my sewing corner in our bedroom, trying to make it as pretty as possible.

  4. Clare says:

    WOW IT’S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I WANT TO LIVE IN YOUR STUDIO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Wow, your studio/shop space looks great! It’s so well stocked and you make such a lovely range of things. I wish I could come visit. 😛

  6. Jax says:

    Emma – your shop looks awesome. You are sooo clever! All the very best with it. Jax (PS I’m telling ya, that yellow bag is just yelling at me to buy it…!)

  7. Ellen says:

    gosh, so many things happened when i left featherston for a week in the world of Emma, your studio is looking beautiful… I know it’s not quite the same but if you need my featherston centric self to ever open up the studio shop I would be really happy to. I wonder how you will feel throwing stitches in there with it so spick and span. I am so very excited about Toms excellent birthday present buying, please make me a waffle. AND this week WHENEVER let me know if you would like to dine at cuckoo or just walk on concrete.

  8. The Sewphist says:

    I am in awe of how beautiful your space is! One of these days I would like to come and visit and see it for real.

Leave a Reply

