A sad day for Featherston

It is with great sadness that I let you know that Craft Country, the little craft and design store I run with my friend Michele, is to close.

Our last trading day will be Saturday, 28 September.

Our current street sign

This winter has been particularly difficult. As many of you will know we only sell on consignment and run on volunteer power so don’t need to make a lot of money but this year we couldn’t easily get through the winter. It wasn’t an easy decision to make as both Michele and I love the shop and have put a lot of effort into making it a great part of the community. We looked at a number of options before we decided to close and didn’t take the decision lightly.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking and rethinking the shop and how it could continue to run but with low sales, a full time job and a bunch of other commitments I couldn’t make it work.

I’m really sad about this and need to try and focus on the 2.5 great years we had, not on my feelings of failure (Tom says I’m an over achiever – this is part of that).

Between now and the end of September I’m writing my Christmas list and doing my shopping at Craft Country while I still can.

One last wonderful event
We have one last great event – the launch of Johanna Knox’s new book on Sunday, 15 September at 2pm. Our events are always popular and Johanna’s last book made the finalist list of the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards so you’re in for a treat with this follow up. We would also love to celebrate and commiserate with you.

Shop local
People tell us all the time that they love the shop, they love our window displays, our stock and what we bring to Featherston. Unfortunately that hasn’t recently translated into them also buying. It was with a heavy heart that I read the local newsletter recently full of ads for local council candidates espousing how they would bring local businesses to Featherston and boost the economy.

So my message to you here? Shop local. Go into that local shop you’ve been meaning to visit. Explore your community. Support what people are doing around you. You won’t always be able to do that but if you intend to then you might get there some of the time.

And special thanks to all the people who did support us – 2.5 years was a good run and we’re grateful for your custom.

Our current window display – poem by Simon Fleck.

13 Responses to A sad day for Featherston

  1. Amanda says:

    That is such sad news , for you and us Emma. I have loved the shop, and each time I have come to Masterton to see my Mum I have looked in the window, as usually it is closed! I seem to travel at that time. That one time that we managed to come when you were there and open was great, …..and we got to meet you , how good was that.
    I also have sad news, my Mum, who you met that day , sadly passed away very suddenly two weeks ago, so my days of visiting your part of the country are also coming to an end.
    I know you will continue your other ventures with the amazing spirit that you have, and I will be following you….with much love and support, Amanda.

    • tomandemma says:

      Oh no! Your poor Mum – she was so lively and vibrant when I met her so that must have been a real shock for your family. I’m so sorry to hear that and hope you’re all looking after yourselves.

      Thanks so much for your kind words about the shop – it was really great to meet you and your Mum that day.

  2. Oh dear. I had hoped to come visit when I come down to the Wairarapa next month 😦 Do make sure you focus on the good things you achieved, and will continue to achieve. And with luck I may see you at your Kokomai workshop 🙂

  3. Louana says:

    I try and buy all the sewing supplies I can from my local sewing store. There used to be three in our small town and now it’s the last, I know a lot of locals drive 10 plus minutes to Spotlight, even for sewing cottons! I can’t understand it. I’m so sorry that you’ve had to make such a hard decision. Hopefully buying local will make a comeback!

  4. notjustknitting says:

    Such a sad day for a fabulous and funky little shop. I hope you feel inordinately proud of what you achieved and brought to the Featherston and wider Wairarapa community. I’m hopeful it’s the “one door closes and another one opens” scenario!!

  5. lynnjtaylor says:

    I know that feeling of failure from when Sailsbury Gallery came to an end (for a number of reasons) – but the reality is that encouraging comments do not equal cash and sales which are necessary to sustain a business.( I felt many people seemed to want to be ‘entertained’ by the art as if they were visiting a publically funded institution.) Then one day Bridie from Art School said to me look at all the good things you did there – and snap, mind set change. Now I look back on that time and remember all the great exhibitions, interesting artworks and projects we did – and the learning I took from there helps me with presenting my work at other galleries etc…so I hope the positive aspects of your store shine for you and your coworkers. BTW I hear in Dunedin Ann’s Fabric store is closing – possibly noticing the effects of the Lincraft and Spotlight chains, which while they stock a large range of stuff there is not the same delicious things as at Ann’s. 😦

    • tomandemma says:

      Thanks Lynn – such good advice (as always). It’s really easy to focus on the negative but you’re right we did heaps of good stuff in the shop and the community so I should focus on that instead.

  6. dear Emma and Michele,

    very sad news, very sad..

    .I will miss your shop,
    your awesome shop that for two and a half years brought joy, happiness, inspiration and pride to yours and the wider community.

    what a phenominal job you guys did!
    be proud of those years, and I hope you have lots of great memories to share.

    thinking of you, always,
    with love.

    • tomandemma says:

      Thank you so much Shelley. I’ve stockpiled some Atticus Finch purses at home already (in my present drawer) and I will be so sorry to miss your marvellous deliveries on my doorstep. Always so exciting.

      Thank you for being part of our shop – people love your work (as we do) and I’ll really miss having it in Featherston.

  7. Jax says:

    Emma, really sorry to hear this. It must have been so hard for you to make that decision. Well done to you and Michele for giving it such a great go – 2.5 years is an awesome achievement. Jax

  8. […] was sad for my friend Emma when she recently had to close the Featherston country craft shop that she ran with a friend. I hadn’t shopped there, so I can’t really be righteous about it, […]

Leave a Reply

