New music that I’m really enjoying

I love a good music recommendation and have had First Aid Kit on high rotate ever since Helen recommended them a few months ago.

They’re kind of dreamy music with substance. I mean, there’s only so many times you can listen to Belle & Sebastian before you want to claw your own ear drums out. These guys are more along the line of Fleet Foxes with a folky, sometimes country feel. I really like this song:

I routinely play First Aid Kit in the shop when it’s my day and had it on on Saturday when a blog reader came in – we chatted about how great they were and agreed that Emmy Lou was a great song:

And when you’re ready to disco dance then this is my pick for you (it’s not by First Aid Kit).

Any recommendations for me? Don’t say Bjork.

3 Responses to New music that I’m really enjoying

  1. Clare says:

    Loooove first aid kit! And fleet foxes 🙂 I’m currently listening to ‘The National’ a lot (latest album, trouble will find me), and also Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours. Because, always. I have WIDE ranging musical tastes… If you wanna go a little ‘new grass’ (blue grass? country -ish, bear with me) maybe ‘The Be Good Tanya’s?’
    I find it hard to recommend music to people. In case they don’t like it. Then what will they think of me?! So I’m being brave…

  2. Ellen says:

    Bo Diddley and The Carter family!

Leave a Reply

