Lets tessellate

I realised recently that I have a stock standard run of patterns and motifs that I like and wear: floral, ships, skulls, hearts and lately horses. That’s about it.

Ages ago I made a skirt with the opening lines of Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Love in the Time of Cholera painted on it. I remembered recently how much I liked fabric paint and make this skull bag (there’s a couple more in my online shop). The single print on each side really made the pink of the blanket much better. And now I’m thinking of creating an entire blanket hand-painted with a skull pattern that I’ll then chop up for bags.

I have a 1950s-green blanket in my sights. It’s pretty bland right now but covered in black skulls I’m sure it’ll be fantastic.

Bag by Emma Makes

Here’s a few more great patterns…

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

2 Responses to Lets tessellate

  1. Ellen says:

    why do you think it is that those are the patterns you are most attracted to ? I am only attracted to the weave of a thing/ or the fabric but never a print nor pattern… that is for my self to be shrouded in, but for others I am glad patterns exist. It would be very sad to see you on a day with not one of those patterns you mentioned.

    Also I am worried that in our old age you will be a floral, skull and horse covered gran and I will be your dull landscape of colour blocks and unhemmed cladding. But actually these things sound nice together, so maybe all is well.

    I think i don’t feel comfortable in patterns because i am so very loud in the thought and mouth that added patterns would make me far too noisy for public spaces. But I can’t be sure.

    • tomandemma says:

      Until now I’ve never really realised that you don’t wear patterns but you’re right. Maybe we’ll just get about Feathersotn and be known as pattern and plain. I think plain suits you and is never boring on you.

Leave a Reply

