On being the new girl

Today is my first day of my new job and the first time in 2.5 years that I’ve been the new girl. While my team is small (about six other people) my new workplace is large so I’m sure I’ll spend a lot of time meeting a huge number of new people and asking a lot of obvious questions.

There’s a lot to do this week:

  • Get a new train ticket
  • Remember to get off at Waterloo instead of Wellington (that’s 20 minutes earlier than normal)
  • Work out when to leave work to make the train home
  • Carry my wooden box with a skull on it that’s full of work essentials like pens and herbal tea to my new desk
  • Work on Friday – THE HORROR

But I’ve sorted the most important thing, which is what I’m going to wear. Head to toe it goes like this:

  • New haircut (always the same, just shorter)
  • Make-up that looks like not make-up
  • Polka dot cardigan (I found in my earthquake box when I left my old job. It’s perfectly good so I don’t know why I put it in there)
  • Black long-sleeved top
  • Black dress from The Carpenter’s Daughter
  • Floral petticoat/skirt (below) that I made this weekend from fabric Mum bought in Asia a couple of years ago
  • Black tights
  • Shoes – yet to be determined. Probably grey brogues.

Wish me luck!

first-day-outfit

Polka dot cardigan and floral petticoat.

13 Responses to On being the new girl

  1. notjustknitting says:

    Beautiful fabric – I bet you look fabulous! Good luck on your first day!!

  2. shelley says:

    dear emma,

    I love this outfit very much.
    you will look gorgeous.

    best wishes for you in your new job.

    shelley x

  3. Make sure you post a pic of you in that outfit. It sounds great! Good luck for the new job. What’s happening with the Friday list? I am not sure I can carry on with it.

  4. Best of luck, Emma! I hope it is fun and not too stressful! x

  5. Jax says:

    You rock Emma – best of luck for your new job – bet you look absolutely fabulous darlink!

  6. Julie says:

    Such a great outfit, Emma. I have been thinking of you a lot, and hoping all is going well. The sun is smiling on you today.

  7. Lisa Wilde says:

    Your new workmates will love you. How could they not? New starts are so thrilling. Enjoy.

  8. Delia says:

    Good luck! Hope you have time to enjoy some of this glorious sunshine…

  9. Wolfies says:

    Luck, flowers and polka dot happiness, and may your body remember its not allowed to sleep in on Friday!

  10. Rose says:

    Hope your first day at work was fun! Most likely filled with endless cups of tea, lots of hand shaking and cups of tea, and several tours around the building. Looking forward to the next time we can meet for high tea!

  11. lynnjtaylor says:

    I want that petticoat!!! I am sure everyone loved you and thought you are super clever like we all do.

  12. […] for all your great and lovely comments on yesterday’s post. I survived my first […]

  13. lynnjtaylor says:

    Missing the Friday list already.

Leave a Reply

