The great postal stash rehash

I spent part of Queen’s Birthday in my studio sewing. In between cutting or pinning I quite often just look around – stare into space, think up ideas…

Like this one.

I have lots of fabric (and thread and lace and ribbon and wool and blah blah blah). It’s all great but some of it I’m sick of the sight of. I can’t be bothered measuring and photographing it for Trade Me and would like new things but should really use some of the old things first.

So I’ve devised an easy way to do both – a postal stash rehash.

If you’re a maker, sign up here, clean out things in your stash that you’re sick of looking at (but that are still really good) and send it to someone else. In return you’ll get a parcel of someone else’s stuff that will be new and interesting and fabulous.

Here’s what’s expected if you want to take part:

  • You live in New Zealand
  • Everything is clean
  • Everything is unsewn e.g. no half-sewn projects
  • Everything is useable e.g. no sending 20cm of ribbon or lace or crap you should really just biff out
  • You send a hand-written card with your bundle (because that’s nice)
  • You either fill a $6 New Zealand Post bag or a $9 Track and Trace bag
  • You meet the deadlines set out, which are:

Sign up for the project is until 5pm on Thursday, 13 June

Your stash must be sent to your recipient before Sunday 30 June.

Sign up to take part in the Postal Stash Rehash. And don’t forget to tell your friends – the more the merrier.

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

21 Responses to The great postal stash rehash

  1. PombagirasPolly says:

    ohh.. i will have to look through my stash and see what i can find.. *beams* what fun!!

  2. Yes I am definitely in!!!

  3. Catherine says:

    I am most definitely in

  4. Alisa Muir says:

    What a fun idea. I have just moved. And am about to start unpacking my stash. I might see if I have enough good stuff to part with before I sign up. As I know I did clean out a bit as I packed.

  5. Kathy says:

    Sounds like fun. Funny how your throw outs all look good when you start sorting them to give away! I love parcels 🙂

  6. Sarah says:

    Oooh… this sounds good! I’ll have to have a rummage and see what I’ve got. Would you want to know what we’d be sending? to match to someones wishlist?

  7. Emily says:

    Great idea, my fabric cupboard is overwhelming me at the moment! Count me in!

  8. Alice says:

    Oh my goodness I just got directed to this via a fabric destash page I am part of, I just made up a pretty little bag of fabric and goodies to give away to someone in the group and start a lovely Pay it Forward little plan!! I am totally keen on this… I just signed up!!! I love the way you think:) Thank you x

  9. Gail says:

    Wow what a cool idea – i’ve just signed up. Ooh such fun!

  10. lynnjtaylor says:

    Oops I didn’t fill out the form – so don’t think I am in after all. Silly me – next time.Or let me know if someone requires a random parcel!

  11. […] Who knew there was so much floor space? I unpacked things people had given me and put together my postal stash rehash packages and also a big box that will go to the op-shop. I have answered all sorts of queries about […]

  12. Zoe says:

    I’m disappointed I found this too late, it sounds awesome!

  13. […] them very hard to resist. So recently, when I saw a New Zealand-based fabric swap announced, the Postal Stash Rehash from Small Town Stories, I couldn’t help myself, and signed right up to […]

  14. […] think it’s probably safe to say that the postal stash rehash is done and dusted. What an interesting project and a true insight into human behaviour, […]

Leave a Reply

