Words to live by

I recently contacted someone to do some work for me and after a while they wrote back and said no. They had a few other projects on and really couldn’t commit to me – it was one of the best emails I’ve ever received.

So often I find people talk a big game or commit to wonderful things then don’t come through and every single time it’s a huge disappointment. Sometimes I just want to shake people. The words below are some of my favourites – I was reminded of them because I’m filling in a blog interview (as Emma Makes) and was re-reading this list I wrote last year.

I made the image using Recite – a great site where you can make super nice looking posters in two shakes of a lambs tail.

under-promise

P.S. If you’re reading this and thinking “she still hasn’t done that thing I wanted” then email me at emma.mccleary@gmail.com – I’d hate to think I was letting anyone down.

5 Responses to Words to live by

  1. Clare says:

    I just did this! Someone asked me to do some bloggy thing, and I said no thank you. YAY ME. I felt so good, so old (in a mature way, not an elderly way) and so freeeeee. I need to do it more.

    • tomandemma says:

      Saying no is really good because it means you can say yes to the right things. So, so much better than saying yes and doing a half-arsed job or saying yes and being stressed out. I HATE the latter. Nice work!

  2. This is something that my mum always tells me to do!

  3. Rhiannon says:

    This is such a good rule to live by.

Leave a Reply

