Foraging and feasting

On Friday is was my night to cook dinner so I made a big pot of spicy tomato soup. Soup is really easy to get right if you taste it as you make it and if you cook it for a couple of hours to reduce it, which gives it a deeper, richer flavour.

Of course, a bit pot means lots left over too – some for lunches, a dash into the mince to give it flavour… and on Saturday morning I made my version of eggs Napoli, which is easy and delicious. Here’s how:

  • Add enough tomato soup into a frying pan to cover it by at least an inch (you don’t need any oil).
  • Heat it up until the soup is bubbling and then reduce the heat.
  • Crack two eggs into the soup.
  • Leave to cook – it will take longer than poached eggs in water and you might need to spoon some tomato soup over the top of the eggs to cook the tops.
  • Serve in a shallow bowl with toast and salt and pepper.
IMG_4668

Eggs Napoli = eggs delicious

IMG_4665

I foraged these figs from a local tree.

IMG_4671

This monster book is 800+ pages. It’s due out 1 August so until then I’ve been reading it at home. Between times it lives on the lounge floor because it’s too big to take anywhere.

IMG_4672

We’re lucky to have this beautiful bush walk beside our house. Of course, it’s a 15 minute walk up a steep steep hill to the summit, which is a killer. I walked the track in the weekend, which was hugely satisfying.

IMG_4674

On the walk I came across this toadstool.

IMG_4676

A lot of the weekend was spent making a custom order for a new stockist in Christchurch. They’re opening a new shop and will have bags, pencils and felt hearts on sticks.

If you want to hear about other Emma Makes projects then you should follow my other blog.

4 Responses to Foraging and feasting

  1. amanda joblin says:

    Ooohhhh, tell me about the new Chch shop….sounds good.

    • tomandemma says:

      I’ll post it on my Facebook page – and here too – once I have more information. I’m just not sure right now whether they’re going to have the same name as their Akaroa store or take a new name. Either way it opens in May. Hooray for May.

  2. amanda joblin says:

    Thanks, will watch out for it, if it stocks your things it will be worth a look.

  3. […] I read that Emma had spotted an autumn toadstool on her walk, I had a yearning to go on a mushroom/toadstool hunt in the bush. So last Sunday I took my family […]

Leave a Reply

