Your very own personalised comic by Sarah Laing

Tom loves comics and has recently returned to reading them in a big way. So when I recently saw a girl on Twitter say that she’d got a custom-drawn comic of her favourite things from Sarah Laing I knew it was the perfect birthday present for Tom.

Sarah was great – I emailed off a list of Tom’s favourite things along with some reference photos and she did the rest. (This is why it pays to do everything online just so you have the reference photos). Also – top tip: just let designers do their thing because it will be much greater if you don’t poke your nose in/make suggestions every five minutes.

Sarah chose what she wanted to draw from my list and put them together in a little one-off book that was a big hit on birthday morning. Here’s a few photos of the work, which Sarah has also blogged about here.

I think she might also be taking custom orders… details for her are here.

7 Responses to Your very own personalised comic by Sarah Laing

  1. Amanda says:

    That is amazing , she has got your Tom just right don’t you think? Love the making bread one with the tattoos, not that I have seen him in the flesh at all, but I think you have shown a photo of him with him arm exposed and it seems to be fairly correct?? And reading her comic about the insect up her cardigan sleeve , I can see you and her have similar minds and sense of humours!!! He must have loved that gift.

    • tomandemma says:

      What I like most about the comics is that they look exactly like Tom! Of all the presents this was Tom’s favourite – it was a great gift. I’d highly recommend giving one!

  2. martinboroughartdepartment says:

    Oh Emma, what a perfect partner you are to your Tom. That present takes the cake…

  3. Julie Broadhead says:

    That is just amazing, Emma. Must be up there as one of the best birthday presents ever. Of course, we all know what is Tom’s MOST favourite thing!

  4. Lynn Taylor says:

    Everyone has already said the things I was thinking – wow – what talent.I have to share this on facebook!

  5. toastandcupcakes says:

    I am fairly, one hundred percent, certain I need one of these for Abraham. Will have to get in touch with Sarah!

Leave a Reply

