Watching movies from the 1980s

These are all the movies I saw as a kid:

  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
  • Benji
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit? 
  • The Blues Brothers (we had a video of it and watched it probably 20 times)

That’s it. We didn’t often go to the movies and weren’t allowed to watch heaps of TV (no bad thing) so I’ve never seen a bunch of really classic 80s movies.

Lately, Tom and I have been sorting that out. We’ve watched The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, Trading Places and Dirty Rotton Scoundrels.

Any other suggestions?

10 Responses to Watching movies from the 1980s

  1. Hopefully you’ve seen Pretty In Pink??? This is my favourite movie! It’s awesome. I also love:
    -Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
    -Say Anything
    -Some Kind of Wonderful
    -St Elmo’s Fire
    x Helen

  2. Gemma says:

    Eeee! Brilliant movie watching opportunties await. Totally agree with suggestions above ^. Also, try the big chill, working girl, wall street, back to the future/s, labyrinth, lethal weapon/s, blue thunder (husbands suggestion, forgive me i loathed it), beverly hills cop/s

    • tomandemma says:

      Great! I might not have to leave the house all winter. Although I have somehow seen Labyrinth. And Working Girl maybe about six years ago? Thanks for the suggestions!

  3. I wrote a little thing about Pretty In Pink on the blog a while ago – here:

    http://helenlehndorf.com/2012/02/10/may-i-admire-you-again-today/

    In Pretty In Pink, Andi (Molly Ringwald) op-shops AND she deconstructs and reconstructs a pink 1950s ball dress for her prom dress – I think my love of op-shopping and sewing partly came from this film!!

    Also, for my 30th birthday, I had a Pretty In Pink party and I made everyone wear pink, eat pink food and watch Pretty In Pink.

  4. Gemma says:

    I’ve been thinking about this some more :-). Coincidence they all start with D:
    dirty dancing, dead poets society, die hard.

  5. Tony says:

    Tootsie is on Comedy Central Thursday at 8.30. Anything with Dustin Hoffman is usually great. Rainman as another example.

  6. BabyVessel says:

    I lived years 1 to 9 in the 80s. And my parents were firm believers in using the TV as a babysitter. As a result, I can wholeheartedly recommend all of the movies listed above and the following:

    The Goonies, Real Genius (you must see this movie – Val Kilmer and science!), The Neverending Story, Weird Science, Princess Bride (surely you’ve seen this after Tom’s Inigo Montoya plane incident), Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, Footloose, Legend of Billie Jean (set and filmed in Texas!), Beetlejuice, Karate Kid, and Mannequin.

    If you want any specific information about any of these movies please let me know. My brain is 99% full of useless 80s movie trivia.

Leave a Reply

