Getting jiggy with some grannies

Yesterday I went to the Upper Hutt swimming pool and did a class of Aqua Zumba. I’m trying harder to incorporate exercise into everyday life and was over that way so took my togs.

I joined quite a large group (about 20) – many who seemed to be regulars – who knew all the moves and hooted and hollered like they were having the time of their lives. Did I mention they were mainly senior citizens? There were groups of friends and some loners like me but everyone was incredibly friendly and although it was hard work the emphasis seemed to be on fun. I really hope that when I get to the age of these women I get out of the house at least once a week to gyrate my hips around a swimming pool to music with a heavy beat.

It was fantastic, really tiring (I may not be able to lift my arms tomorrow), really fun and I learnt two things:

  • I should never ever do Zumba on land. I was incredibly un-co but luckily in the pool nobody can see what moves your legs are actually doing, and
  • You haven’t lived until you’ve seen a group of senior citizens shaking their arses to Moves Like Jagger.

P.S. Those senior citizens owned me. They were so good!

Leave a Reply

