Things I’d like to do in 2012

I don’t make New Year resolutions. Well, expect once in 2005 I decided not to eat any chocolate for a year. I’m stubborn so I did it and it was hard but also great.

I can count on one hand the times I’ve stayed awake to bring in the New Year; I just never thought it was that exciting. I think that everyday is a chance to do something new or better or to extend yourself or realise that you’re probably not going to get into running.

Anyhoo, in lieu of a list of resolutions, here’s one of things I’d quite like to do this year:

Making
– Make shortbread. My Grandma always made shortbread and I never have. I want to and each time I see Melissa post about it I want to do it even more. I like the fork marks.
– Make five new Emma Makes products.
Add a doily pocket to something.

Wheeling and dealing
Get three new stockists for Emma Makes (one to go – I’ve already got Blackbird Corner and Dorothy & Evelyn this year – both in Australia).

Eating
– Have high tea at Martha’s Pantry because it’s great.

Spending less money
Wittle down my fabric stash, which means trying to create new combinations to sew out of what I’ve got, not just buying more.
– Take a plunger to work so I can make more coffee/buy less coffee.

Culture
– Read 25 books. Feel free to make suggestions.
– Find three new podcasts to listen to (working on that at the moment).
– Comment on more blogs – I read lots of blogs and lurke around and rarely comment. It’s nice when people comment – then you know it’s humans not spambots contributing to your blog visits.

Doing
Visit Featherton’s Fell Engine Museum – apparently the most popular tourist attraction in the Wairarapa.
– Do yoga once a week. Last year I took a lunchtime yoga class that was difficult but enjoyable and I’ll like to make an effort to keep that up.
– Visit Kapiti Island (never have).
– Do an anonymous street art project – Helen suggested this and it sounds fun. I have NO ideas about what to do.
– Keep writing Friday lists.

11 Responses to Things I’d like to do in 2012

  1. carol says:

    “street art” sounds a liittttle bit like “tagging” to me..! hah! can’t wait to see your emma tag! 😛

  2. Leesa says:

    I’m very much like you, I also read a lot of blogs and rarely comment. So here is a comment =o) and good luck with the list!

  3. Miranda says:

    I do the same and last year Kapiti Island was on my list. It was awesome!

    Now I have a bunch for 2012, such as: start a book club, go to Maud/Somes Island on a daytrip and try out hip hop classes!

    • tomandemma says:

      I once took a dance-type class at a gym I went to and hip-hop was part of that. Needless to say I was more like a zombie than anything remotely cool or coordinated.

  4. “Read 25 books. Feel free to make suggestions.”

    I would suggest ‘The Road’ by Cormac McCarthy (dark – brilliant), and The Broken Book by Fiona Farrell (unexpectedly good). My favourite books of 2010 and 2011.

    • tomandemma says:

      Thanks Sarah – I know of both those books and have read neither. Also, I wouldn’t have picked up The Broken Book until you said that so will look it out. Thanks!

  5. Lynn Taylor says:

    I am still in awe of you going without chocolate for a year, I find it a challenge to get through a day without it!

  6. […] year I decided I’d like to find three new podcasts to listen to. After I blogged about it I got lots of suggestions;  I thought it was worth letting you know […]

  7. […] decided at the start of the year that one of my goals would be to make shortbread. Armed with three ingredients and Tom’s Mum’s recipe I […]

Leave a Reply

