Vintage vintage

With the proliferation of fake vintage in the world, it’s heartening when you find real treasure from the olden days.

I did just that recently in Hope & Glory in Greytown when I bought a ‘Featherston’ stamp that had once belonged to the Wairarapa Hospital. Vanya (who owns the shop) had come across a lot of hospital gear and has a whole bowl of stamps including ‘laboratory’ and ‘ward nine’ (I’m guessing the loony bin). There’s also a giant ED, which would be great if you know someone called Ed who wants a stamp of their name.

I’ve made an address set with mine and have been stamping up the backs of the envelopes I send my Emma Makes orders out in.

8 Responses to Vintage vintage

  1. Tinker says:

    What a fantastic find!

  2. Rhiannon says:

    Faaaar, that is awesome! I would very dearly love to find such a stamp that says ‘Whakatane’. Treasure, indeed.

  3. hope & glory says:

    Hi Emma

    I’ve been such a bad blogger I have only just found your post! Thanks so much for the shout out, so glad you are enjoying your stamp, it looks fantastic on brown envelopes ūüôā

  4. […] really need to get out my Featherston stamp and do some more envelopes too. It’s quite soothing¬†repeatedly¬†stamping while watching bad […]

  5. […] might of seen my recent post about my Featherston stamp. I’ve just spotted – on a blog I¬†regularly¬†read – a link to an Etsy shop where […]

  6. I noticed the cool stamp action on my last order. I love stamps as well and scored myself an alphabet off Trademe a few years ago for about $10. I use it all the time.

    • tomandemma says:

      I always like to make my Emma Makes envelopes look exciting so people feel like they’re getting a present. When I was at Art School I had a small business selling lead type, which is what I still use for the rest of my address.

Leave a Reply

