To all the books I’ve read this year…

When you work in the book industry, people assume you read incredible books all the time. I like to think I have pretty good book taste (because I’m a snob) and since joining Good Reads some time last year I have been charting my reading.

I’ve found through this – and connections with publishers – I’ve had more book recommendations than ever before and am branching out into reading genres and authors I never would have considered previously. Here’s a very quick wrap-up of what I’ve so read so far this year and how I rated it.

I should say that when I rate something it’s for it’s own merits, not as compared to other things I’ve also rated with the same number of stars. I’d love to hear what books you’ve loved this year…

5 stars: mind-blowingly great books that I now recommend to others

  • When you reach me by Rebecca Stead
  • The Crow Road by Iain Banks

5 stars: really great

  • Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones*
  • Land’s Edge by Tim Winton

4 stars: really good

  • All I ever wanted by Vikki Wakefield
  • The Apothecary by Maile Meloy
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  • Sister by Rosamund Lupton
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (our winter read)
  • The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
  • The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waat
  • Lola by Elizabeth Smither*

3 stars:pretty good

  • The Night Book by Charlotte Grimshaw*
  • Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton
  • A Love Letter from a Stray Moon by Jay Griffiths
  • The Honey Suckers by Victoria McHalick*
  • Everything We Hoped For by Pip Adam*
  • The People of Paper by Salvador Plascencia

2 stars: hated it

  • The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (also abandoned)

*New Zealand authors

3 Responses to To all the books I’ve read this year…

  1. Tony says:

    Another Tim Winton book. Must be more to it than the Winton thing! I haven’t read Land’s Edge. Have you read The Turning? Found it a really good read. Interestingly I have found it easier to source Tim Winton books in NZ than in Sydney or Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

