A new skirt for Mum

A while back when Mum came to stay we ended up at a fabric shop (not unusual). She got some great floral fabric and I cut a pattern for a skirt from one of her favourites that she’d brought with her on her visit.

It’s an a-line skirt with an unusual hem in that it billows out at the knee but then cuts back in. It’s a great style for wearing with a more fitted top and makes an a-line skirt much dressier than it normally is.

Now I’ve got the skirt pattern I can make new skirts for her anytime… so the last time she visited she bought more material and this past weekend I finally got around to sewing the skirt.

The top layer is a fine fabric – possible crepe or georgette with a grey lining, which meant tricky, slippery sewing that required a lot of patience. Three days later and it’s done, wrapped and in the post.

Since I was in a slow, patient sewing mood I even sewed in ribbons that Mum can use to hang the skirt up nicely in her wardrobe. It also helped me take a nicer photo.

In real life the grey of the skirt is a little lighter than the photos. We got the fabric from Global Fabrics in Wellington.

8 Responses to A new skirt for Mum

  1. Becka says:

    Those ribbons are so fancy! Cute skirt, too.

  2. Gemma says:

    Wow. I am not that confident with patterns i dont have to make, so i am totally in awe of that. Currently my daughter wears an assortment of my experiments (mainly pants). I havent ventured into anything adult size yet.

    • tomandemma says:

      I taught myself to sew my making my own patterns so that’s the easier option for me. A store-bought pattern terrifies me. Although Tom does point out that despite many pairs, I’m still rubbish at pajama pants and one leg is always longer than the other!

  3. Tony says:

    Suggest you measure Toms legs – you may find one leg is longer than the other!

  4. Anna Emilia says:

    Dear Emma and Tom,

    Thank you for visiting my small weather diary and for your kind words. Happy that you found there and that you liked the idea about making prints with cardboard. Later this week you will find out how the result became, I will show some images of the prints.

    What nice projects you are doing here, happy to be here!

    Sunset greetings from windy autumn Finland.

  5. Anna Emilia says:

    And…

    Love how you write about “A store-bought pattern terrifies me”, so true and so good that you do things with your own hands from the beginning. Then they become very special.

  6. Emma says:

    Thank you! I’ve added your blog to my reader so I look forward to seeing what you print.

Leave a Reply

