To market, to market… a tale of Te Kairanga

Yesterday I took myself off to the Te Kairanga Spring Market in Martinborough (there’s another one next Sunday from 10am-3pm too).

I’d never been to Te Kairanga and it’s a lovely winery with an old house where the market was and lots of picnic tables for sitting around on. My stall was in a marquee at the edge of the market and a bit shaded and cold but with very nice green grass. The market was billed as a local makers market so I knew that I wasn’t in for sales to rival Craft 2.0 … and I was right!

People came to eat and drink although a few threw in notebooks and pencils for good measure. I ended up cutting out early – it started pouring with rain, I was cold and I wasn’t going to make my fortune in the next hour so home was the better option.

I’ll be back at the market this coming Sunday from 10am – 3pm so come along. This time I’m bringing stuffed toys, some bags, lavender bags and a handful of notebooks and pencils for good measure.

Hope to see you there.

P.S. Strangest question of the day – one old lady asked me if I made the paper inside my notebooks. Ugh – no (it’s photocopier paper).

2 Responses to To market, to market… a tale of Te Kairanga

  1. Rhiannon says:

    Gotta love oldies. Imagine being able to make the paper and still sell your note books at the price!

  2. Tony says:

    It may be photocopy paper but I expect it is carbon neutral.

Leave a Reply

