Reading Anna Karenina for winter

Early this year I saw a challenge online where people could commit to reading one classic in 2011. I nominated to read Anna Karenina.

Years ago I saw a poster for Anna Karenina in the doorway of an independent art cinema in Christchurch near the Square and it’s stuck with me ever since. Given it’s a Russian novel, and universally known to be a brick of a thing, I thought I’d start on 21 June – the shortest day and read my way out of winter. Since I work in the book industry, I created a little group of readers who are all currently reading, finished or have abandoned AK too.

Although I’m making heavy work of it (it’s almost a month in and I’m only just at page 200) I love it. From the first, famous line, ‘All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way’ to the descriptions of Russian society and fashion, it’s great! This morning on the train I read the epic Vronsky steeplechase scene, which left me stunned.

If you know what happens please don’t tell me – I’m looking forward to discovering it myself.

Have you read it?

3 Responses to Reading Anna Karenina for winter

  1. Gemma says:

    Read it? I hadnt even heard of it since this post!

  2. Gemma says:

    I ordered a second hand copy on trade me. Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

