Capote

Philip Seymour Hoffman as Capote

Drinking and fagging - the life of the 60s writer

Harper Lee and Capote

Tom and I spent Saturday night by the fire, drinking mulled wine and watching Capote. The movie is based on the life of American writer Truman Capote while he writes In Cold Blood – his most famous work and a book both Tom and I really enjoyed. If you don’t know him for this, you probably know him as writer of Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

In Cold Blood is a non-fiction fiction, telling the story of the 1959 murders of Kansas farming family the Clutters and then following the psychological relationship between the two killers. It is one of the most compelling but also chilling books I’ve read and even now, years later, I can picture every scene because the language was so descriptive.

The movie was probably bordering on art house – slow, intense and beautifully shot. And it featured Harper Lee, which made me want to do a better job of reading To Kill a Mockingbird than I did in fourth form.

5 Responses to Capote

  1. artandmylife says:

    I loved this movie but am a big Capote and Harper Lee fan. We were even going to name our 2nd child Harper but she just didn’t look like a Harper when she was born 😉

    To Kill a Mockingbird is an amazing book

  2. BabyVessel says:

    My mother keeps suggesting Harper for our daughter’s name, but I have to remind her that it’s my maiden name and would be too weird!! 🙂

    • tomandemma says:

      I know someone who named their son Thomas, which was their maiden name. Only weird for a while – unless you hyphenated your last name and your baby is called Harper Harper-Something

      • tomandemma says:

        Oh Chelsea, hello. I didn’t realise that was you commenting there so I know what your last name is. Harper Hughes does sound quite gumshoe, which could be cool.

  3. Becka says:

    I really loved this movie, Phillip Seymour Hoffman was incredible (as always) and the slow, but still kind of driving pace of the movie was just perfect. I’m also a big Catherine Keener and Harper Lee fan, so I was pretty much in heaven. I think I’m going to have to read In Cold Blood again, it’s been awhile!

Leave a Reply

