Crown Lynn, Colin Firth, Sushi

A Single Man movie poster

Last night Tom and I had a perfect, spontaneous night out in Wellington, catching the party train home at 10.30pm.

We began at our friend Abby’s exhibition at City Gallery. She is the curator of the show and I felt very proud to see my friend’s name on the wall of the gallery. The exhibition was great, the art was interesting, the walls were a fantastic shade of pink and they served pink champagne that tasted like something I last drunk at a shearing shed party in fifth form – sickly sickly sweet.

From there we headed to the usual night-out-in-town eatery, Catch Sushi Bar on Courtenay Place; this time, managing to stay quite alert and not hypnotise myself on the sushi train.

The reason for staying in town was to see A Single Man at The Paramount Theatre. This is the best movie I’ve seen in a long time – it was stunningly beautiful, the story was at times heartbreaking and it has one of the most tense scenes I’ve seen in a movie for  a long time (to tell you what it is would be to give it away). I’ve been thinking about it a lot today and what it means – that despite trying to plan for everything sometimes life takes over or that despite what you want and think you need to happen to be happy, it will never be. Or maybe both.

I loved that every scene in this movie was stunning and considered and that often details were as important as the bigger scene. And I also loved that everytime something happened to George, which made him even slightly happy, the entire colour of the film warmed – just as colours always seem brighter to me when I’m happy.

I can’t rate A Single Man highly enough. It’s  a slow, gentle film and the perfect anecdote to a busy, rushing week.

Afterwards, Tom and I decamped to Kaffee Eis for gelato and then off to Arty Bees for a round of second-hand book poking, which resulted in me buying this and this.

I slept a solid contented sleep the whole way home.

4 Responses to Crown Lynn, Colin Firth, Sushi

  1. artandmylife says:

    I loved every bit of “A Single Man” as well 🙂

  2. carol says:

    I LOVED A single man too! I saw it about 6 weeks ago, at the time choosing it because in the online movie reviews it seemed like the only thing that was on that was even worth a look…and WOW what a gem! The grading (which I noticed that YOU noticed too) was beautifully done 🙂 LOVED, LOVED LOVED it!

  3. tomandemma says:

    Carol you’re so cool that you know that change in colour is called grading.

  4. cal says:

    Oh, I love Joyce Carole Oates – she is so prolific, and all of her books are different. I don’t know how she manages to write in so many different styles. I hope you enjoy the mulvaneys!

Leave a Reply

