Being Frida

Frida

This morning when I opened my Google Reader, one of my favourite blogs, Design*Sponge was doing a ‘Living in: Frida‘ post.

I LOVE Frida Kahlo and sometimes have fantasies that I’ll somehow be committed to bed rest and will have to sit in bed for weeks like Frida, painting and making craft and having a merry old time.

I love Frida’s attitude and her clothes and her paintings and her house and her poetry. It killed me the day I found out one of my workmates had no idea who she was. And recently on my visit to Christchurch, one old lady asked me if the Frida Kahlo brooch I was wearing was a photo of myself (keep in mind she could see me while she was asking this and who wears a photo of themselves?)

One of the greatest exhibitions I ever been too (actually, probably the greatest) was when I saw Frida’s exhibition at City Gallery in Wellington about ten years ago. True rock star stuff – I just stood in awe of being in the same room as her paintings in a way I’ve never done for any other artist.

“I tried to drown my sorrows, but the bastards learned how to swim, and now I am overwhelmed by this decent and good feeling.” ~ Frida Kahlo.

P.S. Does anyone know where you can buy this fabric in New Zealand?

P.P.S Look at this amazing Frida tribute!

3 Responses to Being Frida

  1. artandmylife says:

    I have some of that fabric. I bought it in NZ – I’ll email you the details

  2. sue says:

    or if you want more it’s pretty cheap on etsy
    http://www.etsy.com/search_results.php?search_query=Viva+Frida+Fabric&search_type=handmade

    I still an old frida magnet set i made, i’ll dig it out for you

  3. tomandemma says:

    Awesome! Thank you both.

Leave a Reply

