Morning fires

I beg you to burn

My Grandma always had a coal range for warmth and cooking. She’d get up at the crack of  dawn, stoke the fire from the night before or light it fresh then settle into her chair in the kitchen to read The Southland Times or the Bible.

Staying at Grandma’s, we always tried to beat her up in the morning. I did once and the house was cold and lonely – there was nobody reading or ready to make porridge and it wasn’t at all what I’d hoped for.

Today I worked at home so this morning I got up and lit the fire. I cleaned out the days of old ash, hauled in more firewood and set about getting the house warm. I really enjoy this task because it reminds me of Grandma getting her own home warm in the mornings and I always feel country-ish. I like to imagine that I don’t need to work and that my days tasks will involve craft and printmaking with maybe a touch of gardening.

After I quit my job at Te Papa in 2005 I had contract work for about three months. It was a time of great freedom, good meals every night and well kept lawns and gardens. The only thing it didn’t have was a fire.

5 Responses to Morning fires

  1. Mazzy says:

    I love our fire too, we lit it tonight for the first time this season. I may have to stoke it up tomorrow morning too, that sounds lovely.
    We’re just coming up to our first year anniversary in this house and I am really looking forward to our second winter with a fireplace!

  2. cal says:

    Gosh. I had to read that twice when I got to the line “Staying at Grandma’s, we always tried to beat her up in the morning.” It sounded like you were giving your Grandma the bash.

  3. tomandemma says:

    Oh poor Grandma – no elder abuse I promise!

  4. Catherine says:

    Hi Emma – it’s ‘nutty Catherine from Wellington’ here (!). Lovely to meet you, Alicia & Jillian briefly on Friday night. Definitely keen to catch up some other time for a coffee and gossip. Cheers, C.

  5. Angela says:

    Oh dear..hehe… I read it exactly the same way, poor Grandma!

    And I totally know what you mean – lighting the fire makes me think of my own country Grandma too 🙂

Leave a Reply

