Vege Sunday

When Benjamin Franklin said, “Certainty? In this world nothing is certain but death and taxes” he wasn’t wrong, which is why I find myself home alone today while Tom is at work. I’ve been gardening – sewing seeds for Autumn veges (beetroot, broccoli, cauli, lettuce, beans) and cleaning out the garden of things that had finished their season. I also planted a huge amount of rainbow silverbeet seedlings, which I picked up at the local supermarket – some in the vege garden but also some in flower gardens and one at the gate so that if it grows passing walkers can forage it.

I’m also looking for more vege ideas – so far I have onions, spinach, spring onions, carrots, radishes, parsnips, leeks. I’d love to hear your suggestions too – we live in place with well-draining soil that is hot and has frosts too. Here’s the story in pictures:

Tom's second round of peas and his homemade pea staker

Eggplant - coming along nicely

GIANT beetroot. We only have two so one might as well be a giant

Tomatoes ripening inside after some not-so-awesome tying up

Our second cucumber. The first one was delicious!

2 Responses to Vege Sunday

  1. M says:

    I have the same tomato ripening area inside as well…for the same reasons (as well as not thinning the plants, so that even if I did tie them up well, it wouldn’t have worked because it’s not so much a tomato vine as a tomato forest in our garden).
    Thanks for the autumn planting kick, I have an entirely empty raised bed to fill and needed the inspiration.

  2. Tony says:

    I have just planted cauliflower and brocolli. They may take a while to mature but have been frost resistant in the past. I leave most of the vege garden empty over winter, turned over with pea straw on it to keep the weeds at bay. The pea straw breaks down and when dug in makes for a nice free draining for the next year.

Leave a Reply

