Last Saturday

Ross at home

Ross at home

Last Saturday, between eating his breakfast and planted this year’s potatoes, Tom’s much-loved Dad died suddenly. We loved Tom’s Dad dearly and will miss him greatly. Right now we have good and bad moments, spend quite a bit of time moping about and reminding ourselves that he has died because it just doesn’t seem quite right.

Blog readers will remember Ross for his guest blog and his long comments that were more like personal emails. This one and this one are particularly good examples. We’ll miss those comments, and the Election Night commentary and our best picker on blackberry day and a million other things but I feel lucky to have had such a terrific father in law.

6 Responses to Last Saturday

  1. sue says:

    much love to you and tom

    hopefully your lives will be filled with rogue potato plants popping up at tom’s parents house for years to come.

  2. Jax says:

    Thinking of you Em and Tom.

    Treasure the lovely memories you have.

  3. Martha says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that Emma. I have to admit, reading Ross’s comments, I always had quite a dose of father-in-law envy. He struck me as a top bloke.

  4. Leigh says:

    I’m so sorry Tom and Emma.

  5. Helen says:

    I only got to hang out with Ross twice, but he was a wonderful person who I like immensely. He made me laugh and was very welcoming and kind to me when I hitched a ride to Featherston with him and Julie.

    So very sad.

    xxx Helen

  6. […] weekend the bike came to our house – it’s my inheritance from Ross and I plan to ride it around the streets of Featherston.  The fancy black seat came from the […]

Leave a Reply

