Easter reading and books to look forward to

This Easter I’m looking forward to reading, napping, gardening and sewing; mostly I’m looking forward to new books.

In the next few days I’ll finish A Tale for Time Being (Ruth Ozeki) and The Invisible Rider (Kirsten McDougall), which means I can make a start on some of the pile next to my bed. I’ve got a graphic novel (my first) that Tom recommended, 1Q84 by┬áHaruki Murakami, Who will Run the Frog Hospital by Lorrie Moore, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and a ton of others that I can’t recall right now.

This year I’m also really looking forward to the new Eleanor Catton novel, The Luminaries (that’ll take most of August to read) and Donna Tartt’s long-awaited new book The Goldfinch.

cv_the_goldfinch

If you haven’t read Donna Tartt’s The Secret History you should get onto that – it’s a brilliant book and is also available as a Penguin Classic, which means it will only cost you about $14.

5 Responses to Easter reading and books to look forward to

  1. Toni says:

    awesome list! must remember to check these out at the library :)

  2. Ellen says:

    Isn’t it so great that humans write books!

    • tomandemma says:

      Yes! And there’s always new books and books to discover.

      • Tom says:

        Oh golly Timmy, I love books ever so much, I just wish a had a million books and I lived in a library with only my books and I read books all the time and talked to my cats and didn’t listen to the voices oh no the voices are saying bad things, have to read a book to keep out the voices, have to read another book tonight or slammy slammy my fingers in the door again becuase I’ve been a bad reader, oh god I’m so tired, I just want to sleep but when I dream all I do is read and read and read and read and read…

  3. […] Catton’s The Luminaries (soon to be released) making The Booker Prize long list. I’ve been reading an advanced copy for a while now and will have my review here soon (before the 1 August release date I hope). Needless to say […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 862 other followers

