My cherry chariot

Last year for my birthday Tom gave me the promise of a new bike. At the time I thought I’d get one from Mamachari in Wellington but their service was sketchy at best so I decided to go out on my own.

I spent ages searching different options online and thinking about what was best for me. I knew from biking Tom’s Dad’s old bike around that I didn’t have the leg power for a bike without gears. I also don’t have the patience to stuff around with repairs but wanted a bike that had a vintage shape and that was probably black.

In the end (and after hours of online stalking) I headed down to Avanti in Wellington and got this beaut. The service was friendly and useful, I got to test ride it round and they fitted me out with a helmet, basket and lock too. My new bike is a dark cherry red, has three gears and has something I didn’t expect – suspension, which makes biking along gravel roads and crossing fords a lot easier. The seat is also super comfy, which is more incentive to ride for longer.

I’ve been biking round Featherston and have taken it out on a couple of country bike rides, which are really working me hard. My circuit is 8.5km long, which is the right length for now and includes the special country features of a ford, gravel,┬ásilage┬ásmells and stand-still head-on winds. My goal is to be able to go for a ride and then complete the ride up the hill to our house without dying.

cherry-chariot1

cherry-chariot3

cherry-chariot2

10 Responses to My cherry chariot

  1. Jax says:

    Good for you Em. Once you’ve walked the incline you can aim to ride it next – 10km up but then the joy of 10km down!

  2. Amanda says:

    Great looking bike, is that first pic taken at your front doorstep/

  3. Claire says:

    Wow! It’s a beauty!

  4. Heather says:

    Love it! we need to chat about pimping your ride…Emma Makes Style….so many ideas, options and potential!

  5. Ella says:

    She’s beautiful! Very nice vintage styles with the convenience of a few modern additions to make cycling more comfortable – I think I need this bike.

  6. Connor baker says:

    What brand and model is this and how much did you pay?? I’m looking at the raleigh bikes retroglide and Copenhagen 3 and 6 but not sure

  7. Ellen says:

    I am a little jealous that the bike is your new wandering partner. I just can’t compete with such a beautifully dressed and quiet soul!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 862 other followers

