A dress to wear to a wedding

This weekend I’m heading to Southland for my brother’s wedding. Technically he’s already married – Tom and Anna got married in Vegas earlier this year so this weekend is a delayed wedding reception and celebration.

It’s a garden wedding so I made a garden dress inspired by this and this. The fabric is silk so is really drapey and is lined with grey satin lining. It doesn’t have sleeves (because I can’t sew those) so I’ll wear it with my green Minnie Cooper cardigan. The dress comes from a pattern I drafted off another favourite dress although I’ve made it floor length this time, have made the front, top more ruched and added a really long tie-around sash.

Right now the forecast for Saturday is for rain (and cold) so it might yet get a stripey top underneath it too.

Here’s my last dress that I made to wear to a wedding. And here’s me wearing it.

10 Responses to A dress to wear to a wedding

  1. Ella says:

    That is a lovely, lovely dress.

  2. Amanda says:

    Beautiful dress, you are clever. Like the Minnie C cardi too, I have some lovely MC shoes in blue that you could almost match up with the outfit too! Enjoy the weekend.

  3. martinboroughartdepartment says:

    Just gorgeous! Another clever creation. Have a lovely time.

  4. Ellen says:

    Wow, I can’t believe that piece of fabric lying amongst all the other fabric in your studio grew to be such a butterfly! Because of all the emma makes bags in my periphery I was expecting it to be a emma bag without the bottom sewn up. Nope Its a beautiful dress ! I like the effort you put in to special occasions :-)

  5. Fantastic dress! Well done you.

  6. Rhiannon says:

    Wowzers! That’s a stunner, alright! I do hope we get to see it modelled on the day : )

  7. Lynn Taylor says:

    Beautiful dress, I want it! Enjoy your Southern visit.

  8. tomandemma says:

    Thanks for all these super comments – I’m sure a photo of me wearing the dress will be taken at some point although probably not voluntarily.

  9. Julie Broadhead says:

    Yes, a photo will be needed! I love the detail around the neckline, you are so clever. I checked on the weather report, and you may need a bulky jacket to keep you warm!

  10. Pamsy says:

    great dress, looking forward to seeing a photo of you wearing it. have a great time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 903 other followers

