Meeting at Night

A while back I was working in the Craft Country shop listening to podcasts and heard this poem read. I’d mostly tuned the podcast out – using it as background noise – but this made me stop, take notice, then skip back to hear it again.

Meeting at Night
by Robert Browning

I
The grey sea and the long black land;
And the yellow half-moon large and low;
And the startled little waves that leap
In fiery ringlets from their sleep,
As I gain the cove with pushing prow,
And quench its speed i’ the slushy sand.

II
Then a mile of warm sea-scented beach;
Three fields to cross till a farm appears;
A tap at the pane, the quick sharp scratch
And blue spurt of a lighted match,
And a voice less loud, thro’ its joys and fears,
Than the two hearts beating each to each!

2 Responses to Meeting at Night

  1. Kerry-Anne says:

    I love this poem! I use it at school as a storyboarding activity-my students are only allowed to use ten frames to visually tell the poem

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers

